Margaret River, Western Australia

Margaret River is a wine region in the southwest corner of Western Australia. Its vineyards produce internationally acclaimed Cabernet Sauvignons, Chardonnays, Sauvignon Blancs and other varietals, and are often open for tours and tastings. The town of Margaret River is home to sophisticated restaurants and art galleries. Nearby stretches of the Indian Ocean coast are famed for surfing, with sites suiting various levels.

Map of Margaret River wine region
Map of Barossa Valley Wine Region

Barossa Valley, South Australia

The Barossa Valley wine region is one of Australia’s oldest wine regions. Located in South Australia, the Barossa Valley is about 56 km northeast of the city of Adelaide. In the 1980s, the emergence of several boutique families specialising in old vine Shiraz wines began to capture international attention for the distinctive style of Barossa Shiraz, a full bodied red wine with rich chocolate and spice notes. This led to a renaissance in the Barossa Valley which catapulted the region to the forefront of the Australian wine industry.

Eden Valley, South Australia

Eden Valley wine region covers an area in the Mount Lofty Ranges extending from Truro in the north to just south of Springton in the south. The region is bordered by the Barossa Valley wine region to the west and by the Adelaide Hills wine region to the south. As of 2014, the most common plantings in the Eden Valley wine region are Shiraz followed by Riesling, Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay.

Adelaide Hills, South Australia

The Adelaide Hills wine region is an Australian geographical indication for wine made from grapes grown in a specific area of the Adelaide Hills east of Adelaide in South Australia. The Adelaide Hills wine region covers an area extending along the Mount Lofty Ranges from near Mount Pleasant in the north to Mount Compass at its southern extent. The most common plantings in the region are Sauvignon Blanc, followed by Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris.

Hunter Valley, New South Wales

The Hunter Valley is one of Australia’s best known wine regions. Located in the state of New South Wales, the region has played a pivotal role in the history of Australian wine as one of the first wine regions planted in the early 19th century. Hunter Valley Semillon is widely considered the iconic wine of the region but the Hunter produces wine from a variety of grapes including Shiraz, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon and Verdelho.

Subscribe& Save!

Subscribe to the Stonefish Appreciation Society and receive a 10% discount on selected products at

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This